North Dakota GOP lawmakers elect House, Senate floor leaders

15 Nov 2022

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — New House and Senate leaders have been elected by Republican majorities in the North Dakota Legislature.

Sen. David Hogue, a Minot lawyer, and Rep. Mike Lefor, a Dickinson businessman, were chosen Monday night to serve two-year leadership terms by members of their respective chambers. The new leaders replace Sen. Rich Wardner and Rep. Chet Pollert, both of whom are retiring.

GOP Gov. Doug Burgum will give North Dakota lawmakers a budgetary starting point when he gives his budget recommendations to the Legislature next month.

Click here to read more